Become a Member Find a Course

England Weight Lifting Grand Prix 2019

Following the success of the England Weight Lifting 2019 Championships held earlier in the year, British Weight Lifting are pleased to announce that an England Weight Lifting Grand Prix Event will take place on 2-3 November 2019 at the Stantonbury Theatre, Milton Keynes.

England Weight Lifting Grand Prix 2019

The England Weight Lifting Grand Prix will be a festival of Olympic weightlifting and Para Powerlifting with participants aged from 10 through to 80+.  The event is a Tier 2 competition and will see weightlifters and para-powerlifters crowned Champions of England.

The England Senior Grand Prix will have a two-stage qualification process:

Stage 1 - Lifters must achieve the minimum qualification standard to become eligible for the event.

Stage 2 - The defending England 2019 Champion and the 15 highest ranked eligible lifters will be offered a place in the Grand Prix.

  • Stage 1 and 2 must both be completed within the published qualification period.
  • If a lifter declines their place in the competition the place will be offered to the next eligible lifter.
  • There will be a maximum of sixteen (16) athletes in each bodyweight category.
  • The BWL rankings list will be the only recognised rankings list for allocating places to compete in the England Senior Grand Prix.
  • Lifters may not move bodyweight category after being allocated a competition place.

The England Masters Grand Prix will also take place during the weekend.  This is a Tier 2 competition which will see weightlifters in each age group crowned Champion of England.  The minimum age to compete is 35+ on 31 December 2019. All lifters must have achieved the qualification standard at a competition registered with BWL in the previous 12 months. 

The England Development Grand Prix is a Tier 3 competition which will take place during the weekend and is a fantastic opportunity for lifters aged 12 and below (on 31 December 2019) to experience competitive weightlifting. There are no qualification standards for this competition, but individuals must have competed in a BWL Tier 3 competition.   

Further details regarding entries and the schedule will be announced in due course


Never miss the latest news

Click here to read our Privacy Policy


close icon

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more.

Accept and close