Become a Member Find a Course

The 2024 BUCS Weightlifting and Para Powerlifting Championships will be held between 18-19 April at Brunel University.

The qualification period runs from 3 March 2023 – 25 February 2024.

Virtual qualification

The virtual qualifier runs from 0900 on 15 January 2024 to 2100 on 11 February 2024.

Virtual entries can be made on the launchpad platform here







Tuesday 20 February 2024


Tuesday 19 March 2024 at 23:59 – Student / Competitor Deadline


£45.00 per competitor

Please ensure all entries are submitted through BUCS Play (see below) prior to the closing date listed above.


To apply for the competition all eligible competitors must follow these steps:

  1. Competitor to apply to the event on BUCS Play (Instructions on how to do this can be found here)
  2. Institution administrator approves entry (Instructions on how to do this can be found here)
  3. BUCS approves/denies entry into competition and publishes confirmed entry list in conjunction with BWL

Categorised as a BWL Tier 1 event the results from the competition will be added to the BWL rankings and can be used for qualification to future national events. This event can also be used to set BWL British records.

  • You need to be a current member of British Weight Lifting. Become a member here
  • Institutions can request an unlimited number of entries
  • Entries must be made through BUCS Play via the BUCS website
  • Ensure your institution administrator can approve your entry
  • You can find the rules and regulations of the competition in the weightlifting TCRRs and Para Powerlifting TCRRs
  • By competing in the BUCS Weightlifting and Para Powerlifting Championships you will be eligible for BUCS points if you secure a first, second, third or fourth place. For more information please click here

Reminder: only coaches with a BWL level 2 coaching certificate, DBS and current coach licence will be allowed in the warm up room.

Due to the theft of fractional discs from all of the competitions we have run over the past year, BWL has taken the disappointing decision to restrict access to these weights. Lifters who wish to use these discs during warm up will be required to deposit their passports.  A full set must be handed back in order for the passport to be returned. If discs are missing the passport holder will be required to recompense BWL to the value of the missing items before receiving back their passport.


Event Information Pack

Start List: Red Platform, Blue Platform

  Member Non-Member Concession*
Single Day Ticket £14.00 £17.00 £14.00
Two Day Ticket £24.00 £28.00 £24.00

*Please note that a concession is someone aged between 11 - 16 years of age, or 65+. Photographic ID to prove age may be required. Anyone aged 10 and under can enter the competition free of charge with an accompanying adult. 


Here are the results from the previous competition:

2023 BUCS Weightlifting Women's Results

2023 BUCS Weightlifting Men's Results


Any other questions or queries

Please contact British Weight Lifting by emailing or call 01132 249 402 if you need further help.


Never miss the latest news

Click here to read our Privacy Policy


close icon

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more.

Accept and close